Vers. 22.1 as at 25 October 2022


The objective of the WSA World Trophy is to provide mushers with an international circuit of sprint and dryland competitions at which they can gain points in five classes towards becoming the overall World Trophy winner at the end of the season.


  1. The WSA Sprint & Dryland World Trophy is held annually and runs from October until March.
  2. For every race points are awarded to the top 10 finishers in each class.
  3. The musher with the most points in a class at the end of the season, becomes the WSA World Trophy winner of that class.
  4. For a result to be included in the WSA World Trophy ranking, mushers need to have a valid WDL (WSA racing licence) at the time of the respective WSA World Trophy race.
  5. WSA World Trophy points and rankings will be calculated and published centrally by the WSA.
  6. For a class to be included in the WSA World Trophy ranking, at least five (5) competitors need to start in the class. However, not all starters in the class need to have a valid WDL for mushers to be able to gain World Trophy points in that class. World Trophy points will be allocated in line with the ranking that was achieved (e.g. the 5th ranked musher receives 7 points even if the first four mushers in the class don’t have a WDL).
  7. At present, there is no World Trophy for Juniors.
  8. Every WSA member can nominate one of their sprint or dryland races as a World Trophy event.
  9. On any given weekend, only one World Trophy race can take place. Race weekends are allocated on a first come, first served basis.
  10. Results achieved at the WSA Dryland World Championship and the WSA World Championships Sprint & Mid-Distance also count towards the WSA World Trophy rankings.
  11. World Trophy races must follow WSA Race Rules. Having a WSA race marshal or race judge to oversee the World Trophy race is desirable but not mandatory.

WSA World Trophy Classes

Class 1: Skijoring, Pulka, Bikejoring, Canicross, Scooter 1-dog-1, Scooter 1-dog-2

Class 2: 2-Dogs-1, 2-Dogs-2, Scooter 2-dogs-1, Scooter 2-dogs-2

Class 3: 4-Dogs-1, 4-Dogs-2, DR4-1, DR4-2

Class 4: 6-Dogs-1, DR6-1

Class 5: 8-Dogs-1, Unlimited-1, DR8-1

If at a race fewer than 5 competitors are entered in the above individual categories, Siberian Husky and freight categories can be combined (e.g. 2-Dogs-1 & 2-Dogs-2 but not bikejoring and canicross). In this case, freighting teams receive a time credit to make the times between Siberian Husky teams and freighting teams (Greenland Dogs, Alaskan Malamutes, Samoyeds, Canadian Eskimo Dogs, Yakutian Laikas) comparable.

If there are sufficient high-value World Trophy prices, the WSA will divide Class 5 into two separate classes (8-Dogs & Unlimited).

World Trophy Scoring System

For every race points are awarded to the top 10 finishers:

1st place: 20 points4th place: 10 points7th place: 4 points10th place: 1 point
2nd place: 15 points5th place: 7 points8th place: 3 points
3rd place: 12 points6th place: 5 points9th place: 2 points