World Trophy Scoring System

For every race points are awarded to the top 10 finishers:

1st place: 20 points6nd place: 5 points
2nd place: 15 points7nd place: 4 points
3nd place: 12 points8nd place: 3 points
4nd place: 10 points8nd place: 2 points
5nd place: 7 points10nd place: 1 point

For a class to be included in the WSA World Trophy ranking, at least five (5) competitors need to start in the class. However, not all starters in the class need to have a valid WDL for mushers to be able to gain World Trophy points in that class.

World Trophy points will be allocated in line with the ranking that was achieved (e.g. the 5th ranked musher receives 7 points even if the first four mushers in the class don’t have a WDL).

World Driver’s Licence (WDL)

The WDL (the WSA’s racing licence) is mandatory requirement to participate in WSA Championships and the WSA World Trophy. The annual fee of the WDL is €45.00. The WDL is valid from 1st May until 30th April of the following year. Juniors are free but their WDL nevertheless needs to be activated by their respective WSA member association. 

Mushers can generate a WDL by going to Mushers who already have a WDL can continue to use their existing WDL. The payment for the WDL has to be made by the respective WSA member association  WDL fees from individual mushers will be returned. For a WDL to be valid, payment needs to be received before a musher’s first start at either a World Championship or a World Trophy race. 

Only mushers with a valid WDL will be eligible to gain World Trophy points. The IFSS’ DID cannot be accepted as a substitute for a WDL.

World Trophy Classes

Class 1: Skijoring, Pulka, Bikejoring, Canicross, Scooter 1-Dog

Class 2: 2-Dogs, Scooter 2-Dogs

Class 3: 4-Dogs, DR4

Class 4: 6-Dogs, DR6

Class 5: 8-Dogs, Unlimited, DR8

If at a race fewer than 5 competitors are entered in the above individual categories, Siberian Husky and freight categories can be combined (e.g. 2-Dogs-1 & 2-Dogs-2 but not bikejoring and canicross). In this case, freighting teams receive a time credit to make the times between Siberian Husky teams and freighting teams (Greenland Dogs, Alaskan Malamutes, Samoyeds, Canadian Eskimo Dogs, Yakutian Laikas) comparable.

If there are sufficient high-value World Trophy prices, the WSA will divide Class 5 into two separate classes (8-Dogs & Unlimited).